I need some help with die choices

Inkognito

I've got a .338 Lapua that I have been tinkering around with for a few years. I've learned a great deal with it. In the past I've always just reloaded cheap to save money, 9mm, .223, .308, plinking stuff. But with this .338 I'm learning a lot about reloading for accuracy.

I'm not satisfied with my current dies. I bought standard RCBS dies years ago, but now I want a micrometer seater die and neck sizing die. I don't want to discuss the pros & cons of neck sizing vs. full case sizing; I've made up my mind I want to neck size so what I need is some advice on dies. I can buy Redding micrometer seating die and neck sizing die for $150 ea. That is just more than I think I want to spend. I can buy a Forster micrometer seating die for $68 and I can get a Redding S series neck sizing die for about $75. I've also looked at Wilson hand dies, but I am not as familiar with arbor presses an hand dies. I do not know exactly how they work. The idea of being able to reload anywhere is appealing, but all of my experience has been with traditional presses with threaded dies.

So my questions are: 1. Would Wilson dies with a Sinclair arbor press be the best way to go? Or is it just another way to go? 2. Forster micrometer seating die is less than half the price of the Redding competition, is it also less than half the die? 3. Same question about the Redding S series neck sizing die, it is about half the price of the Redding competition neck sizing die, is it half the die?

Keep in mind that while I am trying to get the appropriate equipment to work up some accurate loads, I'm not a competition shooter. I'm not chasing perfection and I don't want to spend exponentially more money to obtain that last frog hair's worth of improvement in accuracy.

Thanks for any input on my dilemma.

"I'm not chasing perfection and I don't want to spend exponentially more money to obtain that last frog hair's worth of improvement in accuracy."