I got my new scope today

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by wyomingblizzard, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. wyomingblizzard

    wyomingblizzard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    I recieved my new Nightforce ATACR today! Only one problem, no rifle to put it on. I have one of Kirbys 338 ams on order, but still a couple months or more out. I am trying to get every thing ready for when the rifle is ready. My question is what hight rings will I need? At the price of nightforce rings I dont want to make a mistake. I emailed Kirby but havent heard back from him, I know he is busy so I am not worried. Getting the scope is just makeing me more excited. I am like a litle kid waiting for Christmas morning! :D
     
  2. supercrossbmx69

    supercrossbmx69 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    I just got my 338 raptor from Kirby this week with an ATACR on it. I ran into this problem. When I sent him my ATACR and NF 6 hole rings that were medium height it cleared the barrel but upon firing it flexed just enough to touch the barrel. So Kirby had to send them and get highs. So you'll atleast need highs. Maybe even extra highs if you want the NF scope covers to fit. There's not to much clearance with the highs and my 1.350" shank.
     
  3. Canadian Bushman

    Canadian Bushman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    You are gonna have an awesome setup when everythings done. These next few months are gonna feel long. Definitely wait to hear back from kirby, im sure he'll know exactly what to use.
     
  4. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,081
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Is it possible to send him the scope to mount when the rifle is done?
     
  5. supercrossbmx69

    supercrossbmx69 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Yea I don't see why not. I sent mine a few months before it was done. He told me to get medium rings and they did not fit.
     
  6. 1 mile

    1 mile Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
  7. wyomingblizzard

    wyomingblizzard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    I do plan on sending Kirby my scope to mount. Just trying to get every thing togather so I can send it when he is ready for it.
     
  8. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,081
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    I'm in the same boat with my ATACR. One thing leads to another, do you have a plan for a level, or angle indicator? That's where I'm a bit hung up.
     
  9. wyomingblizzard

    wyomingblizzard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    I plan on useing the flatline ops folding level and angle indicator set up. I have one rifle with the level on top off ring and dont like that set up.
     
  10. Iron Worker

    Iron Worker Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Why do you feel you need to send the scope for mounting ? Mounting a scope isn't rocket science .
     
  11. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,081
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    I admire those skilled enough to manage simple jobs without causing damage to the project or themselves. I'd blame loss of fine motor skills, and visual acuity, but I had issues back before those things left town.:D

    Given the number of times issues with scope cant appear in threads I guess I'm not the only one.lightbulb

    My gunsmith in addition to greater skills (repetition), also has better tools. (Those tight measuring thingies):rolleyes:

    If he orders the wrong rings he can send them back.gun)

    In my case he's also building the base.
     
  12. wyomingblizzard

    wyomingblizzard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    I normaly mount my own scopes. That being said, also I dont have a 34mm aligning bar. This is my first custom rifle,I want every thing perfect. I will make an aligning bar for future use.
     
  13. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,081
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    That too!
     
  14. wyomingblizzard

    wyomingblizzard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    I heard back from Kirby, he said to use 1.125" rings. Kirby also said he recomends two sets of rings on the 338AM. I guess I will wait on getting a level and angle indicator untill I see how much room is left.