I’m a new believer in Berger bullets!

6.5 Remington

I've been reloading for over 30 yrs! I have used every possible bullet known to man! Except The Berger bullet! Recently I had a Remington 700 rebarreled to the 280 AI. I could not find a suitable bullet in my repatoir that I was happy with the results! I can't get 1/2 in or better I m not happy! So I picked up a box of 180 gr vld hybrid target to see if it would make a point !!it did ! I'm a believer in Berger!
Now I'm happy ! But what would it do at distances of 500 yds or more! I shoot a lot and I haven't seen the energy this bullet carries at distance!! A 12" plate with a8" circle at 700yds drove this bullet 3/8" through a 1/2plate! Wow

Attachments

• 3B22EC87-2A63-4977-AADA-86C453D469DC.jpeg
    3B22EC87-2A63-4977-AADA-86C453D469DC.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 248
I am glad you like Bergers. We shoot a lot of them for Competition and a lot of us use for hunting depending on the bullet type.
Competition bullets usually flatten out hitting a 500 steel plate. Hunting bullets are made to expand inside an animal for 100% energy distribution.
Just get yourself some "Black tips" (if legal) if you want to shoot through most any steel plates.

Berger bullets are pricy but shooting other bullet brands & types to get satisfactory results might be more pricy. An example: wifey shoots her 9 twist .223 at 300 yard steel using 69 grain Si MK's & 69 Barnes Match Burners, hits decrease with 8-10 mph wind at 11;00. Using the same components, brass, primer, & powder kind/amount but switching to the Berger 70 VLD hits are increased noticeably under same or slightly worse conditions . Satisfaction is obtained with 35 rounds loaded with 70 grain Berger VLD instead of remaining frustration with 50 of the others. Black painted steel now covered with closely spaced multiple splash marks. Cost increase $0.07 - $0.05 per round.