How to dial in for LRH?

WizardM

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
44
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
I have a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x56 scope that is 1/4" MOA. Say if I'm planning to shoot 500 yards, when I zeroed in my rifle at 200 yards. iSnipe is telling me to adjust 6.15 MOA up. Since scope is 1l4" MOA, how do I dial in the .15 MOA?
 

ICANHITHIMMAN

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
4,381
Location
SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
I have a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x56 scope that is 1/4" MOA. Say if I'm planning to shoot 500 yards, when I zeroed in my rifle at 200 yards. iSnipe is telling me to adjust 6.15 MOA up. Since scope is 1l4" MOA, how do I dial in the .15 MOA?
Good question, I do the mil thing so I would like to know as well. Has to be simpler than we think. Maybe we cant get it that close? Does I snipe have a data entry point for your scopes adjustment levels?
 

Greyfox

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
5,585
Location
Northeast
You round to the nearest value that you have on your scope. In your case I would adjust my scope to 6.25 MOA. At 500 yards your error would be .52" high. At 1000 yards the difference would be a little over an inch. For all but the most stringent accuracy requirements this is pretty close. Some programs will allow programming of the clicks required which will round to the nearest click. This can be burdensome at the longer ranges, with it being easier to just do a mental calculation. If a greater degree of accuracy was required you could make the adjustment with your reticle, calculating the difference, or use a scope with finer adjustments, ie. 1/8 MOA click values.
 

ICANHITHIMMAN

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
4,381
Location
SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
You round to the nearest value that you have on your scope. In your case I would adjust my scope to 6.25 MOA. At 500 yards your error would be .52" high. At 1000 yards the difference would be a little over an inch. For all but the most stringent accuracy requirements this is pretty close. Some programs will allow programming of the clicks required which will round to the nearest click. This can be burdensome at the longer ranges, with it being easier to just do a mental calculation. If a greater degree of accuracy was required you could make the adjustment with your reticle, calculating the difference, or use a scope with finer adjustments, ie. 1/8 MOA click values.
See simple thanks Grayfox
 

royinidaho

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Messages
8,947
Location
Blackfoot, Idaho
As said 0.15 MOA is certainly close enough....

I'd avoid the 1/8 MOA clicks. I have one and its too many clicks to keep track of when there are animals in the field of view. :rolleyes:
 

Joe King

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
1,392
Location
The cold part of Montana
I have a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x56 scope that is 1/4" MOA. Say if I'm planning to shoot 500 yards, when I zeroed in my rifle at 200 yards. iSnipe is telling me to adjust 6.15 MOA up. Since scope is 1l4" MOA, how do I dial in the .15 MOA?
With your scope assuming your settled on a load I would be ordering a calibrated turret, if you not quite settled on a load then you can order a set of these Custom Turret Systems | Affordable Custom Turret Labels until you find a load that really flips your twinky, for their price I think their a great idea and they'll give you and insight to calibrated turrets with out costing you a Cnote, they guy is more than willing to get you what will work best for you.

+1 on what GreyFox said also
 

Trending threads

Top