How did you get proficient in LR shooting?

How did you get proficient at LR shooting?

• Self taught

Votes: 53 70.7%
  • Mentor

Votes: 12 16.0%
  • Book

Votes: 2 2.7%
  • Video

Votes: 3 4.0%
  • Class

Votes: 5 6.7%

• Total voters
Woddmaster, you are absolutely correct having a good wife who doesn't look at you weird with buying rifles, gear and such.

Once it dawned on me that there were scopes out there that would track and repeat. And I figured out the deer didn't really care if I had 22 MOA dialed in instead of 20 moa. I learned how to tune loads for precision, in cartridges that are forgiving and not so overbore. Went through that spell in life when I thought velocity matters, like everyone. Then lots of practice!

Tom

Hunted Montana for the first time and had my eyes opened as to just how "open" the land is out west, and realized that being able to shoot well at 300 yards was not even getting off the porch.... Started collecting books on LR shooting, learning the science (at least the practical application of it), had some improvements done to my existing rifles, found The Best of the West and later Long Range Pursuit as "TV tutors", stumbled across this website (and a few others), watched about four million Youtube videos (okay, maybe that is an exaggeration), built better rifles, bought better glass, learned along the way to not be cheap about it (culminating in the purchase of a G7BR2), and of course launched several thousand bullets downrange.

My bench rest skills have splashed over into my hunting. I do not hope I will get the deer, I get the deer if its @100 yards or 500 yards its going down. Shooting is a mental game, there is a book that was available but not in print I think anymore called that. It is, if you do not believe that you will hit the target you most likely won't.