Help..Wyoming Elk Zone 38 or 40?

Murf45

I've got a very good chance of drawing a tag for wyoming elk next year. I'm trying to decide whether to hunt zone 38 or 40 in the Big Horn mountains. I'm also trying to decide whether or not to hunt archery or rifle in those areas. I just started shooting bow this year, and I've never been elk hunting, so if anybody has hunted in those areas and has any good insight it would be much appreciated.

I've got a very good chance of drawing a tag for wyoming elk next year. I'm trying to decide whether to hunt zone 38 or 40 in the Big Horn mountains. I'm also trying to decide whether or not to hunt archery or rifle in those areas. I just started shooting bow this year, and I've never been elk hunting, so if anybody has hunted in those areas and has any good insight it would be much appreciated.

Hey I just joined the site I hope I am not to late, I live right at the base of the Big Horns and if I where to choose one of the areas it would be area 40 (Cedar Creek) it has some pretty good bulls. As far as Bow or Rifle I would take the rifle season, alot of that area is winter ground for the Elk. It is much Lower in Elevation than 38.

Hey, thanks for the reply. Are you able to hunt most of that area during rifle season, or does the snow get so deep they close the roads. I'm anticipating drawing the tag for the 2011 season, and I was going to go do a little scouting this year and try to get a feel for the area. I was also looking at some area's in 41. Would you know anything about that area? I was also wondering if it would be possible to pack out and tent in some of those areas, or would the weather be a little to dicey?