Help with misfires please

w8n4rutnmt

Gun is a savage 110 fcp in .338 Lapua

Using lapua brass, cci 250, H-1000

Last range session had 4 rounds not fire. Two loaded in new/unfired brass, two loaded in once fired brass. Primer had smaller "dimple" from firing pin than fired rounds do.

Primer seating depth is consistent across all rounds.

Firing pin issues??

Any ideas appreciated....Thanks

Did you ever Blank a primer? If you did you may have brass or debris inside of bolt. I don't like CCI primers because they are hard and give hangfires and no fires. I use federal 215 in my Lapua and never have a misfire with them. Matt

If I may also... (I'm no pro by any means lol) ... and somebody tell me if I've screwed up...

This was my cure for the same problem in a Savage Model 12 - 6x47 Lapua (Wolf primers) and a Savage Model 16 - 22-250 (CCI primers). Seems that Savage may be a common theme also...

I disassembled the bolt, cleaned and greased/lubed the firing pin etc... then I drilled the hole in the bolt-face to one "letter" sized drill bit larger than original.

For both these rifles it cured it. I was getting misfires at least once in every 10 rounds with both rifles. The model 16 now has +100 rounds since modification without a single misfire and the Model 12 has +50 rounds, no misfires.

My .02 :D

Not saying it's NOT a primer issue also...

If you get the hole bigger you will start to get cratering. Most guys send them to Gre-Tan rifles to get them bushed so they do away with the slop and cratered primers. I know a lot of people that have trouble with the Russian or CCI primers. They have thicker harder cups. When I tried them in my match guns I had trouble with hangfires and not going off. Some of them had fused powder in the bottom of the case. If it doesn't ignite right and goes out the barrel some and ignites it can turn into detonation. Very dangerous. I never had a Federal not go off ever. Matt