Help...Neck sizing vs Bump sizing

Lonewolf74

Aright to start off with I'm pretty new to reloading and so far have only made up rounds for my AR which has less room to "play" in order to feed correctly.

So now I want to dive into making loads for my bolt gun and after much research on the net I'm leaning towards FL resizing but setting the die to just bump the shoulder. 001 or so. I'm looking at Redding S dies with the bushing setup and the question I really have is how do I determine what size bushing I should use? How do I measure the chamber and neck size of my rifle? Do I measure everything off a fired case or is there a way to precisely measure my rifle's dimensions? Also what do the bushings control exactly, neck size or something else?

Any input on this or NS vs FL and the route I should take is greatly appreciated

You are on the right.track

Lots of.opinions here. I expect to get.flamed with mine. Just.remember it is.just.my opinion. All the.different methods when done.correctly produce very accurate ammunition

I am a full length sizing.guy and.i don't do neck bushings. For.me it brings along.all the.same problems neck sizing does.

I recommend the forster benchrest full length sizing die. If you want to improve.on that once you know what neck size you want forster will hone it to your specifications for $40.

If you want the ultimate then send 5 pieces of at least 3 times fired.brass and not resized on the last.firing to either Allen or Whidden and have them make you a custom die.

Another option is to send fired brass to Harrel Precision and they will pick one.out.of inventory that.closely matches your chamber.

I have been down the neck sizing trail. I saw no great increase in accuracy and it brought with it a new group of problems. I don't like donuts and if you are going.to have to full length resize every 5 shots or so anyway what is the point?