Have You Ever Used An Annular Cutter?

Pastor Gun.zales

Hello Everyone, I am a hobbyist gun builder (NOT a gunsmith) and my passion is restoring old forgotten firearms. That said, I purchased this Westernfield 72C (Mossberg 472) .30-30 in a lot set and in parts a few months back. I finally have it reassembled and working, and I have decided to stain the wood black, thread the barrel, and probably put a LPVO on it. Who knows, I may even Cerakote it Midnight Blue or Dark Gray.

As the title says, has anyone used an annular cutter or threading kit from Carlonia Shooters or something like them? If so, do you have any tricks or tips? Is it worth it, or should I send it off to my gunsmith?

Annular Cutter Kit

Also, what would you do with this old cheap store model lever gun if it was yours?

image1 (1).jpeg

I would restore it simply the way it was.
I feel ya, and that is what I doe 99.99999% of the time. However, I am not a huge lever gun guy. I have a Henry Big Boy in 44Mag that I love, and a Marlin 336 30/30 that I have never shot lol.

This thing cost me very little, so I'm thinking of going crazy lol.... besides, suppressed lever guns are cool hahahaha

Hello Everyone, I am a hobbyist gun builder (NOT a gunsmith) and my passion is restoring old forgotten firearms. That said, I purchased this Westernfield 72C (Mossberg 472) .30-30 in a lot set and in parts a few months back. I finally have it reassembled and working, and I have decided to stain the wood black, thread the barrel, and probably put a LPVO on it. Who knows, I may even Cerakote it Midnight Blue or Dark Gray.

As the title says, has anyone used an annular cutter or threading kit from Carlonia Shooters or something like them? If so, do you have any tricks or tips? Is it worth it, or should I send it off to my gunsmith?

Annular Cutter Kit

Also, what would you do with this old cheap store model lever gun if it was yours?

View attachment 563795
Depends on how it shoots.