good action for long range

crediger

Hi I'm new to this long range stuff (my longest shot was out to about 500 yards) and am wondering what the best action for long range would be(browning, wby, remington)? All i have used are hunting rifles and am interested in reaching out farther than 500 yds... i'm considering getting a custom built and am trying to find some suggestions...

If you want to use a factory receiver, look no farther then a Rem 700. There are others that work and will work well but you did not list any that make my short list.

Before I get hammered for not saying the Browning and Wby will make great long range rifles, this opinionis from my experience building rifles on most factory receivers and there is a reason why the Rem 700 is far and away the most popular receiver to use.

If you want to use a custom receiver, look at the Lawton, BAT and Nesika receivers. All are top notch and its a personal preference thing to pick one over the others from what I see on paper down range.

Kirby Allen(50)

I don't think there's a better action than a Winchester Model 70. They ain't popular cause of all the hype about the Remington 700 ones out there. But well-informed, knowledgable people who want reliability, usability and accuracy know the Winchesters out perform the others.

It doesn't take much work to true a Model 70 receiver; square the face with the barrel threads, lap the lugs to full contact, then square the bolt face with the barrel threads. Sometimes the magazine follower will need a little wider 45 degree flat on its rib if cartridges using a .30-06 size case is used. Doing any more than this is a waste of time and money.