Ex bal

~Ace~

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
69
Is the disk designed to only allow you to install Once ? I bought it a good while back and installed on Axim X-30 it died not long after, today I got a X-51 and tried to install but the disk can't be read in any of my puters ? :eek:( had plans for it this weekend.
 

jmason

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
1,529
Location
New Castle, PA
You should be able to install it on as many machines as you like. I don't know the legalities of it but physically it's possible.
 

~Ace~

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
69
That is what I thought, but after 1.5 hours trying I am looking into other options lol 2 Laptops and 2 desktops that won't read disk... I guess I should have made a backup.
 

kcebcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,221
Location
West Central Idaho
Is the disk designed to only allow you to install Once ? I bought it a good while back and installed on Axim X-30 it died not long after, today I got a X-51 and tried to install but the disk can't be read in any of my puters ? :eek:( had plans for it this weekend.

What do you mean “can’t be read”? Is it that it won’t auto start? Have you used windows explorer and gone directly to the drive and tried to run from there or right clicked the appropriate drive letter and chose “open”? If you have ands it still won’t run I would say the disk is shot. They do go bad. If you’re using a Mac I haven’t got a clue.

Yep should have made a backup!
 

~Ace~

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
69
Reads like a Blank disk in CDRW's, and gets a Corrupt error on a DVDR ..
 

Eaglet

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
2,779
Location
Nevada
Is the disk designed to only allow you to install Once ? I bought it a good while back and installed on Axim X-30 it died not long after, today I got a X-51 and tried to install but the disk can't be read in any of my puters ? :eek:( had plans for it this weekend.
Take the disk to one of those movie rental places, they usually provide a service in which the nicely grind the bad side of the disk. They don't charge much and you may save the day.

Good Luck!
 

Buffalobob

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
5,095
Location
Potomac River
Go into "properties" and then into "advanced" and then find "compatibility" and tell the machine to use the oldest version of windows that is in it. Probably Windows 98.

Then use "run" to get it to open

This may not be the exact right sequence but my point is to drop down to a older version of windows and try that. This is how you get the really old computer games such as Tomb Raider to play on the new machines. :D Always fun to go hunt the raptors.

Other option is to email Gerald Perry and see what his advice is.
 

Trending threads

Nightforce has great tracking capabilities, they are rugged, a bunch of elevation, holds zero forever, and reticles are designed for long range shooting. So if you are looking to shoot long distances constantly, then you need a scope that can take the abuse. -- gilmillan1


Culture Of Excellence At Nightforce Optics
By Len Backus

A high level of quality both in production and in service. Read More


Nightforce is such a solid combo of reticle, available elevation, glass that is good enough to shoot at the longest range you can dial. Nightforce has bullet proof construction that can handle the incidental horse rolling or some other rodeo action. -- bigngreen


Nightforce ATACR Scope Review
By Jeff Brozovich

The new NightForce ATACR is for sure a top choice for any long range shooter. Read More


The total package. Nightforce is the best I have used as far as turret feel and solid detents. I have never had one that didn't track right on and always return to zero. Nightforce NXS is the best value for everything I need. -- Broz


Nightforce Velocity 1000 Reticle Review
By Scott Shreve

I think Nightforce knocked it outta the park with this reticle! Read More

NightForce


Top