Educate Me - 6.5 SAUM

Xtremetj

Some of you have probably seen my other posts. I'm new to the long range hunting, been a long time archer. I'm looking for a long range gun for antelope and deer hunting and have been wanting a 6.5x284. I just haven't found what I'm looking for and stumbled on to this. I found a used gun I'd like some input on.

See specs below.

6.5 SAUM, 26 inch fluted, Bartlien barrel with a 1.85 twist. It has a heavy sporter contour barrel. The reamer used was the 6.5 GAP 4S with a .296 neck. He says it's known as the no turn neck.

What does all this mean? Should I run since I don't understand it and am not set up for reloading? Would this be good for hunting deer and antelope out to 600-800 yards like the 6.5x284?

Thanks in advance.

Greg.

Last edited:
6.5x284 and 6.5saum are both known barrel burners. So if you plan to shoot the rifle often, I would not recommend either cartridge.

Also, antelope are not particularly tough to kill. So consider the 260rem or 243win. Here's a good antelope set up....

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f53/my-260-mcr-59628/

??? This is simply untrue. The 6.5 SAUM is not a "known barrel burner." In fact, it is quite the opposite with many shooters reporting excellent accuracy despite being past the 2k mark on the same barrel. One of major points of development of the 6.5 SAUM was barrel life.

??? This is simply untrue. The 6.5 SAUM is not a "known barrel burner." In fact, it is quite the opposite with many shooters reporting excellent accuracy despite being past the 2k mark on the same barrel. One of major points of development of the 6.5 SAUM was barrel life.