Digital scale variations?

Vamike9

I have an RCBS digital mini scale that came with my kit and I use it for reloading precision 223 ammo. I am still new to reloading but seem to be getting variations on my digital scale of more than .5 of a grain at times. Also my zero seems to vary as well, sometimes showing .3+ when I have my pan zero set. How many grains does it take before I see a noticeable difference in accuracy? I'm nowhere near max loads so I know I'm safe, however I want to make the most consistent ammunition possible. What are good inexpensive digital scales that I can rely on? Also are there any good techniques in using these scales?

If the scale has a AC power adapter, use it and turn the scale on for about an hour before using it. This allows it to warm up and it won't drift as much. Also keep away for electrical noise like fluorescent lights and cell phones. Keep it away from air currents, even the air from a furnace vent can affect it. Keep the room temp stable and over 65 degrees.

A lot of reloaders use the Gempro 250. For an inexpensive digital scale. It measures down to .002, which is about the weight of a single kernel of extruded powder.