Difficult 30-378 Weatherby Magnum

bsimmons4

I have a 30 378 weatherby mark v accumark that I am just getting into long range shooting with. I've had a hard time finding good loads for it, but finally found one: 210 vld berger bullet, 98 grains of H1000 powder , and seated my bullet 0.020 inches off the lands. MY PROBLEM is that I've had many of my cases start to dent right before the shoulder while shooting them. There is only about 1/8th of an ice of the bullet in the case besides the boattail, because I want my bullet close to the lands for better accuracy. My cases also have a black soot on them after being fired. Can anyone help?

Attachments

• Snapchat-4247231164001721909.jpg
    Snapchat-4247231164001721909.jpg
    31.6 KB · Views: 110
I have a 30 378 weatherby mark v accumark that I am just getting into long range shooting with. I've had a hard time finding good loads for it, but finally found one: 210 vld berger bullet, 98 grains of H1000 powder , and seated my bullet 0.020 inches off the lands. MY PROBLEM is that I've had many of my cases start to dent right before the shoulder while shooting them. There is only about 1/8th of an ice of the bullet in the case besides the boattail, because I want my bullet close to the lands for better accuracy. My cases also have a black soot on them after being fired. Can anyone help?
The case is not sealing to the chamber. STOP shooting that load before you erode the chamber.... You need to seat deeper.

Any ideas about how much a bullet needs to be seated in order to create a good seal between the case and the chamber?

At or around .308" of bearing surface. The 300 Win mag has less than .308 but not much less, and it can be quite accurate. I am intrigued by you saying you found a good load with only 1/8" of bearing surface in the neck. The runout would be horrible...
I would start at .308" and work backwards with seating.