Correctly mounting a scope on a rifle

peterb

I have been putting scopes on rifles for about 40 years. This is not to say that I have it right, and now that I am shooting further than 300 yards, thought I would throw this in and get some advice. (Previous threads have been a brilliant learning experience !)
I normally mount the scope on the rifle, then sitting back a little, take an imaginary line through the vertical cross hair extended down to the centre of the bolt (as viewed from the rear.) My .223 and .308 both have Lynx mounts which can be adjusted to enable scope alignment.
This, by the way, is before you actually start dialling turrets.

Can anybody tell me if this is the correct method, or is there a better way to ensure alignment from the start ? (We gotta keep it simple !)

I tried a bore sighter years ago without much success and it was that exercise that led me to discover my current method.

Cheers,

Pete.

I have been putting scopes on rifles for about 40 years. This is not to say that I have it right, and now that I am shooting further than 300 yards, thought I would throw this in and get some advice. (Previous threads have been a brilliant learning experience !)
I normally mount the scope on the rifle, then sitting back a little, take an imaginary line through the vertical cross hair extended down to the centre of the bolt (as viewed from the rear.) My .223 and .308 both have Lynx mounts which can be adjusted to enable scope alignment.
This, by the way, is before you actually start dialling turrets.

Can anybody tell me if this is the correct method, or is there a better way to ensure alignment from the start ? (We gotta keep it simple !)

I tried a bore sighter years ago without much success and it was that exercise that led me to discover my current method.

Cheers,

Pete.

peterb