Contemplating First Custom Rifle

I've been contemplating building a rifle for several years now and it appears that the time has actually come to make it happen. I'm pretty tight on money and a good portion of the parts are going to be outsourced to family members for holiday and birthday gifts. I can't justify spending any more than $500 upfront plus what I say I want for christmas (1 gift from everyone ~$300 max), plus my birthday in march (~$200 value) so $1000 total without scope. I feel that it is crucial that I mention the fact that I am not a 12 year old, I am in fact an 18 year old college student. Any advice is greatly appreciated and recommendations for alternate suppliers/methods/calibers would also be great.

My family owns a 7mm rem mag that I use for deer and a 22-250 that I use for PDs but I was looking to build a gun that splits the line in between for knockdown power, ammo cost, and recoil, but accuracy that is better than both. I've done a good amount of research into calibers and I like the looks of the 25-06 cartridge since it is a little bit stronger than a .243 with very manageable recoil and reloading costs. Naturally research is trumped by experience so I am still up for suggestions.

For an action I was looking at the Savage target actions since they are affordable, stainless, comes with a decent trigger, and from what I understand is well respected for entry level and also easy to install barrels on for a novice without a professional gunsmith's assistance. Although sourcing this action seems to be a little difficult, older auctions show them sold for $350 while few stores sell them and they are $500+. I've called a few local shops to see if they can get it for somewhere in between.