consistent measurement with Hornaday case length comparator.

goblbustr

Let me preface this by saying I am new to this tool. When measuring cases I cannot get a consistent measurement. Spin the case inside the comparator and you get measurements that vary by .003 or more. This is brand new Lapua brass and brand new Peterson brass. I bought this to check my shoulder bump but with these results its pretty much useless. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Let me preface this by saying I am new to this tool. When measuring cases I cannot get a consistent measurement. Spin the case inside the comparator and you get measurements that vary by .003 or more. This is brand new Lapua brass and brand new Peterson brass. I bought this to check my shoulder bump but with these results its pretty much useless. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Are you sure the insert for the caliber you are using is not moving? Is the screw tight? FWIW, I don't have that problem.

I use the Hornady OAL guage. About 80% of the time, I get consistent measurements. I don't know how far you are seating off the lands but I'm typically .015 to .020, so I don't typically sweat .003 of variance. I usually take the average of 3 to 5 measurements, as long as they are within a 5 one thousandths. One thing to watch out for is that sometimes, with a secant ogive (slimmer bullet) you might not get a "hard stop" when you push into the lands. This may (sometimes) be due to throat errosion and you can be dealing with .050 to .060 of "slop" trying to figure out where the lands are. Very frustrating at times.

These comparator tools are only as precise as you are using them…
If you are turning the case and it is reading different, you may have dodgy callipers or nicks, bent rims or other damage on your brass.
The best measuring tools I have found and use are RCBS Precision Mics, they will show you between .001" variation in your brass. It is not marked to show 'tenths' but is easy to see in between the hash marks.