Bullet Attitude at Impact

Mitch Rapp

I have seen several recent threads about bullets and some really good tests of bullets at high and low velocity. The low velocity impacts are what got me thinking. If I understand it correctly a bullet maintains it's attitude in flight, unlike say an arrow which follows the arc. In other words, at very long range a bullet would have a nose up attitude on impact. Does that change the performance of the bullet? How would you test that? and has anyone tried?

More of a curiosity than anything, just not something I have ever seen talked about.

I'm not an expert in this area, but from reading Bryan Litz's book on Applied Ballistics, it sounds like for a properly stabilized bullet, the nose of the bullet will be pointing in the direction of travel. Have you ever noticed a football thrown by a pro? How the nose of the ball follows the arc of trajectory? It's the same principal.

The book mentions that over-stabilized bullets can have an over-riding effect of resisting some of that natural pointing. In this case the tip of the bullet can be pointing off slightly from the direction of travel.

To have the nose of the bullet pointing the direction it was when it left the muzzle - no, it doesn't do that.

I'm not an expert in this area, but from reading Bryan Litz's book on Applied Ballistics, it sounds like for a properly stabilized bullet, the nose of the bullet will be pointing in the direction of travel. Have you ever noticed a football thrown by a pro? How the nose of the ball follows the arc of trajectory? It's the same principal.

The book mentions that over-stabilized bullets can have an over-riding effect of resisting some of that natural pointing. In this case the tip of the bullet can be pointing off slightly from the direction of travel.

To have the nose of the bullet pointing the direction it was when it left the muzzle - no, it doesn't do that.

Never thought of the football example but it does make sense.