Book powder charge difference

C-130 Dude

I know there are more than a couple of reloading books out there that have the same load, but different charge weights for the same load using the same bullet and powder type.

However, when I see a difference of 2+ grain difference in the same load I begin to wonder just what the heck.. These are for standard 308win guns, not service rifles.

E.G., 308win, IMR4064

Sierra #6- 168 SMK, 44.3 max
VS
Hodgon #2021- 168 SMK, 45.9C max

AND

Sierra #6- 175 SMK, 42.3 max
VS
Hodgon #2021- 175 SMK, 45.6C max

Am I missing something?

Am I missing something?
No you're not. I'm fairly new to reloading (10 years) and I noticed if I look at 3 sources I will get at least 2 different.
I just use it for a ballpark figure since all rifles are different.
I start low to midrange and work up slowly until my rifle tells me that I am at max and then back it off at least one grain.
I noticed Nosler and Speer are usually on the hot side compared to hodgdon.

Each test gun is slightly different(as is your rifle), and they usually use different primers and brass too. Also- the date the load data was printed (older data was usually a little less muddied by lawyers)--- don't forget that different lots of powder will often times have slightly different burn rates. Reload books are guidelines, not hard set rules----- that's why ALL the reload data books say "start low and work your way up"

These two different speeds are the same load in RP brass and Nosler respectively. The Nosler is thicker and has less volume than the RP. I usually try to check three sources and get a consensus of the data, but as you see there are a lot of variables including the difference in powder lots, bullets, primers, etc.
The Berger book is very conservative compared to other sources but there's nothing wrong with that.
88.0 = 3,070 3,209
88.5 = 3,109 3,218
89.0 = 3,114 3,223
89.5 = 3,121 3,212