binos-low budget to midrange

timmay

I have been researching binoculars and like scopes there are so many I get a headache researching them all.
I am not I binocular expert, I am a total novice when it comes to them.
Looking for an all around use (hunting, camping, urban..etc)
I first decided I was going to buy something under $250 and settled on these:
All 8x42

(current Amazon prices)
Bushnell Excursion HD $110
Celestron Trailseeker $190
Vortex Diamondback $220
Nikon Monarch5 $250

These were my choices for the next level and my upper limit budget:
Vortex Talon HD $420
Vortex Viper HD $520
Zen-Ray ED3 $415
Trijicon HD $620 (I guess these are the same glass as the Meopta)

Just need some advise as there are way too many to even list. Don't know If I should go the budget route or higher price

Vortex Viper HD. I was actually in the same boat a couple weeks back. I went to a sporting goods store and tried comparing, and you tell subtle differences amongst the group. When you ask to compare them in the dimly lit warehouse, some really stand out. My opinion is that dollar for dollar, the Viper Hd are hard to beat. You get a lot of value for the money with Vortex, and get a great warranty to boot. Buy once, cry once. $300 is a small premium extra to pay for better glass that for all intents and purposes will last a lifetime.

+1 for viper HD. I have the zen ray ed3. great binos but the viper HD's are in the same league and have a better warranty.

+1 for viper HD. I have the zen ray ed3. great binos but the viper HD's are in the same league and have a better warranty.

The zen-ray ED3 are $100 less than the Vipers and are built out of Magnesium which is supposed to be the better option..the Vortex Razor HD's are made out of magnesium
but Im probably sure this is more of a personal preference and doesn't really matter..
The Meopta Meopro HD 8x42 is supposedly the same as the trijicon but the trijicon is about $200 less.