Best group

long action

Just finished the break in on my Shilen barreled Savage in .280 this week. Using 150 Sciroccos I shot 2.908" at 600 yards.

My partner shot it at 500 yards, And managed a 2.120" group.

We are trying to lease private land so we can get in some 1000 yard work.

Long we do care and you don't have to shut up. Cause if you do then you can't ask questions
grin.gif

As my greatgrandfather use to tell me "Old people get young and young people get old" so now don't give up. Keep shooting for that 1000 yard range and greater
cool.gif

excellent! I would love to shoot that good. I am new to long range shooting and am working to get to the 1000 yard mark. Not there yet and not as close as you. Practice, practice, practice.

Long Action I did not reply cuz I was fingertied (kinda like tonguetied. That is a group I only dream about Great going.

Man that's good stuff...

The rest of you guys.. if you load right and prep right and practice the techniques it will come to you... trust me I thought I'd never shoot small groups at long range.. it will and does happen...

PMA guys... ( positive mental attitude )

Mind over matter.... don't think you can't do it... think you can do it... shooting is a very mental thing... ie: flinch control , breath control, trigger control. once you learn it and pratice it.. it will happen...

I'm shooting about 6-7" groups at 700 consistiently.. I just got my 300 ultra .. so now I move to the 1K area and beyond

I guess I should have said it was only 3 shots... :-(

[ 05-07-2003: Message edited by: *WyoWhisper* ]

Longaction

I agree, that was fine shooting.
Not sure if that was a 3 or 5 shot group you mentioned?

I too am in the "old man" status and appreciate small groups way out there, as you have.

For instance, at the Williamsport Heavy gun match last Sunday, I entered my new 6.5/284 16 1/2 Lb Light gun. I feel it has some serious potential or i wouldn't have put it in with the "big" guns.