bedding full action question

harleybug

Is it worth bedding the full action or just do the recoil lug. I'm new to precision long range rifle building and am doing my first build now. I'm trying to learn as much as possible so any advice is aappreciated. Im building a rem 700 7mm mag so any advice about pros and cons on the caliber and how to make the rifle better would be great.

I have full bedded my Remington actions, and the answer is yes it is better then just doing the recoil lug area.

Bedding the full length of the action is not needed. Here is what we found has worked, start by just floating the barrel and the action. Make sure the sides of the action do not touch the stock. Use a piece of paper and make sure it freely moves under the barrel and along the sides of the action. Then you can either go all the way and form your own pillars with Devcon, which we use and is one of the best, or just surface bedding. Pouring your own pillars allows for perfect molding of the stock contours where the action screws go through. Once the pillars set up, the next step is to bed the tang, recoil lug, and 1.5-2 inches of the barrel channel. Once finished, the barrel will be floated and so will the action and the bedding will make everything fit perfectly and uniform and the pillars will allow the action screws to be torqued down. The action screws should be torqued to 60-65 inch pounds. This is what has worked with 10+ of our Remingtons, Mausers, Springfields, and everything else including all the rifles we have bedded for friends and other guys.