BEAR WITH A CONTENDER

GNERGY

My story is in the Bear hunting section,also.
1640508428215.png

I"m telling it to you like I am telling it to my friends, which on this forum you guys are. It is also kind of long.

This is my first bear hunt. My friend Eric from Montana called me and told me he had been talking to an outfitter in Riggins Idaho about bear hunting. He said they sounded like a couple good old boys. Eric said they were real knowledgeable about bear hunting and the bears in their area. Eric is a very knowledgeable bear hunter himself with 28 bears under his belt. He said it sounded like a good hunt with a very good chance of taking a good bear. Eric told me to call them and gave me their number. I called and talked to Andrew, told him that I am new at bear hunting and asked him a lot of questions. He said they had dogs that would get on the scent of the bear and chase it up a tree. Then in the afternoons you could sit on a bait barrel to see if a bear comes in. So I told Andrew I would check to see if I could get that time off from work. I called Andrew back a couple days later and got the details on sending in a deposit to secure my place in the first week with Arnie, Andrews partner.
I googled driving from Arizona to Riggins Idaho which is about 20hrs and 1100 miles. So I would have a good long drive ahead of me. I had 2 weeks to prepare. Got the Contender and some ammo and off to the range to verify 100yds zero and 200yds drop. It was a little rough trying to shoot at the range because a thousand of these little knats invaded my shooting space crawling all over my hands and face so it was hard to concentrate and hold the pistol steady and squeeze off some good groups. It's chambered in 338JDJ which is a 444 Marlin case necked down to 33 cal and it shoots a 180gr Ballistic tip at 2500fps.

1640474373243.jpeg