Any experience with KANO KROIL for barrel cleaning?

boscodog

I was told by a biathlete trainer that Kano Kroil is what some of the athletes use to clean their rifles with - anyone else know about this?

I've been using it for guns for years. And for vehicles for even longer. I've been using it overall for close to 10 years. That stuff is incredible. I've unlocked motors that have sat for 30 years untouched in the weather with it.

They also make it in an aerosol can called AeroKroil. It's about $17 a can, but worth it. I used to buy it by the case when I was building offroad trucks and offroad toys.

'(MudRunner) I've been using it for guns for years'.
Is it good on removing copper and lead, whats your process for a typical cleaning and for a build up cleaning?
Thanx.
Tom

'(MudRunner) I've been using it for guns for years'.
Is it good on removing copper and lead, whats your process for a typical cleaning and for a build up cleaning?
Thanx.
Tom

No, I use It for lubing them. I use RemOil on patches for quick barrel wipe-outs, and I use Pro Shot Copper Solvent IV for removing copper. Then I wipe out with Rem Oil afterwards.

I've been using it since the late '90's with Shooter Choice MC#7 and with JB Bore Compound. I think it was Fred Sinclair that had recommended it to me? But those guys had been using it for years before that.

I place a drop on the patch and soak the rest with Shooters Choice. If I'm using JB Bore Compound I'll run a patch with Kroil through the bore and then use a patch with the JB paste on the throat and through the rest of the barrel.

I mix about 25% kroil with shooters choice as my general cleaning solution. I think that the film left behind is enough protection i dont run another straight oil through the barrel after.

I first heard about it when moly was the rage, JB paste clean followed by kroil to get any residual out.

I dont use JB anymore unless I am worried about carbon in the throat.