Amazing Lapua brass

Varmint Hunter

I just finished up tweaking my 6.5 Creedmoor load before the whitetail season. I'm running the 140 Berger Elite Hunter Hybrid at 2,750 fps with H4350 in a Lapua SRP case. The very last group I shot was exactly on point of aim and came in at 1.10" @ 418yds.

When I looked back at the plastic ammo box, I noticed that this particular batch of Lapua cases were on their 11th reload. Even with full tilt loads, this stuff just doesn't wear out.

Congratulations to Lapua for producing such a fine product!

Yep for people who balk at the price…it isn't even more expensive if it lasts 2-3 times longer! And it's consistent as all get out.

I have no experience with alpha or adg yet. I do have some lapua and some Peterson brass I use for my .300 win mag. It is far and away superior to any of the "generic" brass. They seem about on par with each other. Lapua is slightly roomier. Peterson just might be even one degree tougher. But 6 of one, half a dozen of the other as they say.

Norma makes awesome brass too: it is soft, it won't last as long as the four I've mentioned BUT I still give credit, it's incredibly consistent both in weight and annealing, grain structure for neck tension, etc…. Just not as tough.

I do still have no problem with the generic brass, and of those I consider Winchester brass to be the best of the bunch IF it's more than two decades old haha. They're newer stuff seems poor in comparison. Brittle. But older Winchester brass is notably tougher than Remington or federal or ppu or the old Canadian imperial/dominion stamped brass and had the highest internal volume too, at least in .300 win mag, .270 win, .30-30 and .243 win