Advice Needed, Load Development

jstanton

So I wouldn't say I'm an advanced reloader but I'm also not a beginner. I've worked up loads for my 6.5CM and 300WM with great success but my latest endeavor for my custom 7mm Rem Mag has been difficult to get my SD and ES where I want them. Ideally, I would like to see both below 25, and maybe that's unrealistic, but that was easily achieved for my other rifles with the 6.5CM being single digits on both. I'm thinking maybe this gun just doesn't like H1000 but figured I'd tap the braintrust here before changing anything.

A bit about the gun. Built by Alamo Precision its a 7mm RM on a Curtis Axiom action, 24" Proof Sendero Lite barrel, Timney Calvin Elite trigger, bedded in a Western Precision Stock. It was throated for 180gr Berger VLD bullets. Prior to load development the gun had 140 rounds of factory ammo through it.

Load components are: New ADG brass, Berger 180gr VLD Hunting, CCI 250, and H1000 powder. Loaded .020" off the lands and .002" neck tension set with a mandrel.

I am typically pretty cautious working up to pressure so I always start low. Here was my first outing. All shot over a Magneto Speed V3 in 5 shot groups. No signs of pressure.

65.1gr, 2802fps, 40.2SD, 98ES
65.4gr, 2809fps, 30.6SD, 84ES
65.7gr, 2804fps, 19.2SD, 44ES
66.0gr, 2840fps, 46.6SD, 123ES
66.3gr, 2843fps, 21.4SD, 50ES

Second outing, still searching for signs of pressure, I started on the high end of my first workup. No signs of pressure still.

66.0gr, 2791fps, 23.4SD, 54ES
66.3gr, 2815fps, 33.0SD, 78ES
66.6gr, 2855fps, 34.7SD, 80ES
66.9gr, 2841fps, 17.3SD, 48ES
67.2gr, 2859fps, 33.3SD, 67ES

Temperature and humidity were similar both days. I even tried a round with 168gr Bergers and had similar results to my first batch of 180s. I feel good about my reloading process. I throw charges with a Chargemaster Supreme and double check every charge with a balance beam. I also measure every round after seating to verify depth.