338 Lapua Load Development Advice

dawg4life

Here are the options I have to begin load development for my new to me Savage 111 Long Range Hunter in 338 Lapua, Vortex 6-24x50 ffp. My use for this gun will be long range steel shooting for fun and long range hunting on larger game no bigger than elk

These are available:

Primers: Federal 215
Brass: Norma unfired 338 Lapua
Bullets:
1. Barnes LRX BT 280gr
2. Sierra Hollow Point Boat Tail Match 300gr
3. Berger Elite Hunter 300gr
4. I can also get any other bullets that are in stock at midway or etc. but these 3 are available locally.
Powder:
1. Imr-4350
2. Imr-7828
3. Imr-7828 SSC
4. H4831 SC
5. Retumbo

I'm just looking for a starting point I realize most of it depends on other things and my gun may not like what others do and I can work on things such as charge weight, seating depth, etc.

I have been shooting the Lapua for 5 years now
AR 30 and Rem 700

My favorite load

91.0of H1000 (my favorite is 91.5 at 2800 FPS) But excellent accuracy at 91.0.
300 gr Berger hunting and OTM ( best BC of all the Bullets)
WLRM
Lapua Brass

COAL at 3.680"
2783 FPS in 26"
In the beginning I had a lot problems with brass I was using Hornady Brass and it would expand in the chamber during firing and had to use a rod to tap it out.
Switched to Lapua brass........never had a problem since.

Suggest powders with 250 grain bullets ......Reloader 26 and H1000
300 grain bullets........Reloader 33 and H1000

Really like H1000 in the 338 Lapua and 338 Rum
Military loads by Black Hills loads 250 Sierra MK at 3000 FPS and 300MK at 2800 FPS.......so I don't load anything faster than 2800 FPS with 300gr to preserve throat life on barrel.

Appriciate the advice! I sure wish I could find some h1000 but doesn't look like it's going to happen. What is the optimal bullet weight for the lapua? I've read that if you want to shoot the extended range the 300 grain bullet really shine. Would a Sierra matchking be a acceptible hunting bullet?