Acceptable Powder Charge variance

catorres1

I have an RCBS chargemaster system as well as a gempro 250. Had the gempro first, but it was so slow, and so finicky, I decided to get the chargemaster, even though it is +/- 1/10th instead of the 2/100th like the gempro.

Now I find myself weighing charges from the chargemaster and then checking them on the gempro...not sure I have helped myself here, as the gempro is kinda flighty and very slow, but there it is.

So my question is, how much of a charge weight difference is important/critical? Am I obsessing over something that I'll never see in terms of actual performance by getting every charge down to the .02 range by double weighing?

I should note, I am not a competitor of any kind. I do take classes to be able to shoot long, but that is for hunting purposes, not competing.

Thanks!

Your developed load tells you what matters.
Don't defeat yourself with generalizations of hunting -vs- competitive accuracy. No matter the shooting, accuracy is the most powerful of attributes.

Am interested in this as well and have subscribed. I weigh every rifle charge as a safety precaution if nothing else.

I have a PACT powder dispenser & scale but use a RCBS 10-10 and 5-0-5 to double check accuracy of every other charge. I set my accuracy standard at +/- 1/10 a grain or less. Although I don't know if this statement has any truth to it, but I have read often the smaller the case capacity the more critical powder charge weight consistentcy becomes.

Your developed load tells you what matters.
Don't defeat yourself with generalizations of hunting -vs- competitive accuracy. No matter the shooting, accuracy is the most powerful of attributes.