H1000 variance in powder or chrono?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by jrock, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. jrock

    jrock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Had something happen to me yesterday that I haven't seen in my 10 years of reloading. Took a new gun out to break it in and followed a 5 single shot between cleaning and then 4 sets of 3 shots between cleanings. I was using the same powder charge the whole time. Temperature was 67 degrees that day. Then yesterday, 60 degrees, I did some scope dialing testing and leveling with the same powder charge and my F1 chrony said I was 100 fps slower than the previous outing. I did open a new can of powder for the last outing but I have never seen a 100 fps variance between lots of any other powder I use. The weather was very similar, sunny and warm and I used the diffusers over the sensors both times. Seems to me that it would be a chono issue vs powder. Anyone run into this before? Maybe the chrono needs a new battery??

    I've been frustrated with the F1 but can't bring myself to pay a whole lot for another system or the magneto speed which is trading accuracy information for velocity. Been toying with getting another F1 and putting them back to back.
     
  2. RockyMtnMT

    RockyMtnMT Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    3,875
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Get the Mag Speed and don't look back. We shoot far less ammo now with it than we did using sky screen chrono's. Depending on the time of day and the angle of the sun you can see the 100fps easy. Could be a bit of difference in the lots of powder in the equation as well. Hard to tell without a good chronograph.

    Steve
     
    HARPERC likes this.
  3. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,493
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    So now your brass is fire formed?
     
  4. jrock

    jrock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    No, I am still working on the 100 new sized cases. One thing I forgot about before posting was that I am using a neck tension of 0.001" and thought I dry lubed the inside of the necks on the first set. That was to simulate carbon build up. Didn't do it on the second. I'll check my reload data when I get home. Wouldn't think a dry lubed neck would produce higher velocities than virgin brass.
     
  5. phorwath

    phorwath Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,814
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    No sense doubling up on two inaccurate light sensing chronographs. You'll still end up not knowing much more than whether or not a bullet crossed through them.
     
    HARPERC and RockyMtnMT like this.
  6. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,493
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    So you changed powder lots AND case capacities?
    These would be two major potentials at the same time..
    Also, neck lube does not affect velocity.
     
  7. jrock

    jrock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    The first outing finished off one can I had. The second outing was off the second can. Sorry if I wasn't clear on that. I bought both the cans at the same time but I don't keep track of lot numbers as I never have had an issue between cans.
    As far as case capacities, shouldn't have changed. Still virgin brass with each shot. I've shot about 30 of the 100. I shoot them all before reloading to keep the same number of firings on each.
     
  8. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,493
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Ok, I misunderstood. It's hard to believe that much change in powder lots alone.
    Was there barrel cleaning between?
    Was the barrel up to fired temps with second MV measure?
     
  9. Garycrow

    Garycrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    479
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    I saw about 100 fps change in velocity between two different lots of H1000 also. I was in the middle of trying to work up a load for an elk hunt and it blew my load work up out the window. I bought an 8 lb keg & that took care of the problem.

    H1000 isn't the only powder I've seen lot to lot changes from, it's more common than many know. I've started buying powders I know I'll be using a lot in 8 lb jugs to keep things consistent.
     
    RockyMtnMT likes this.
  10. Jerry M

    Jerry M Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
  11. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,204
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    I would be highly suspect of the optical chronograph. Even using diffusers, lighting variations can easily produce a 100FPS variation. I'd bite the bullet and get a Magnetospeed. My problems with precise velocity measurement ended when a I bought my MS several years ago. Yes, POI can be effected by the MS. IMO, running separate velocity readings that are "accurate" will cost you a lot less in the long run.
     
    jb1023, Dgd6mm, HARPERC and 1 other person like this.
  12. RockyMtnMT

    RockyMtnMT Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    3,875
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    This exactly matches our experience. We shoot much less ammo now that we use the Magspeed. I would say that accuracy is still good with the Magspeed on but the poi is different. So I can see if the load workup is looking like the rifle likes it or not. Once done collecting vel data then the bayo is removed and I move on to zero etc.

    Steve
     
    HARPERC likes this.
  13. Wedgy

    Wedgy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    990
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    The latest batch of H1000 has been faster than the previous ones, I call it H950.
    An F1 can raise more questions than it can answer, get an MS or Labradar
     
    RockyMtnMT likes this.
  14. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,670
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    I agree with the F1 being less than helpful, I suspect cumulative +/-. A few FPS here and there with the chrony being the bulk of it.