7mm SAUM w/ Berger 180g Hybirds

map it

I'm new to the caliber and I usually do not post a ton on this forum so if this is the wrong place I apologize...

If I plan to run the 7mm SAUM in a short action tactical rifle with accurate magazines that have an overall length of 3.055" is this long enough to still have enough H1000 powder to push the 180g with reasonable velocity?

I would do a re-barrel and order a reamer but I wanted to make sure the bullet would not be too long.....

The overall cartridge length of the accurate mag magazines is actually 2.950" ~ if you get them without the binder plate... If you are really wanting mag fed with 180 hybrids, PM elkaholic about his 7 Sherman Shortmag :)

I really want to stay with the 7mm SAUM with no wildcatting so I'll probably stay with a 168g VLD when I re-barrel.
I took the front plate out of one of my AICS Mags adjusted the lips and I'm getting a dimension of like 2.990ish but I just got the accurate mag dimension from their website.

Like I said I'll probably just order a reamer for the 168g VLDs and call it good.....

Yeah, I hear ya there. I never understood why they didn't list the cartridge overall length in the specifications, well a couple months ago i emailed them about it just wondering why.. Needless to say they had the store updated with the cartridge lengths in about 20 minutes. Talk about quick response :D

Hmm now that I think of it... Even with the reduced capacity from seating the 180s to mag feed, RL-26 *might* get you where you want if you can get it... But seriously, message Rich Sherman (elkaholic), he should be able to help you quite nicely as I believe the first point of his 7SS was to be able to mag feed the 180 Hybrids with optimum seating position. Good luck!

What do you consider reasonable velocity? 7 saum is a great round, even if you cant seat long...