7mm Mag Norma Brass, too soft?

naja302

Hey, first post here. Mostly I just come here to learn by reading other posts, but this is bugging me so I figured I ask for some advice.

I gave up on the 338 Lapua after not being able to get acceptable accuracy with 3 different guns...the last of which being outrageously expensive (problem must be me). So I figured I would try this 7mm mag thing that everyone seems to think is so good (despite my pre-conceived notion that its basically equivalent to a 30-06).

I have a sour taste from expensive guns that shoot 2MOA, so I bought a Remington 700 long range in 7mm mag for $750. I wanted fancy brass so I bought 100 pieces of Norma brass.

Facts:

• I have fired less than 200 rounds through the gun
  • I am new to the 7mm Rem Mag
  • I have fired 13 different 5 shot groups under MOA and 6 of those were roughly .5MOA. This is outstanding and I have never had this kind of repeatable accuracy with anything.
  • I have shot mostly 168 bergers and they shot best at Zero clearance
  • Velocity is very slow and when I get to 2900 fps extraction is very stiff and I had to use a cleaning rod to remove several rounds.
  • I neck sized the brass and they would not chamber (without a fair amount of force) These rounds when chambered scraped the case immediately in front of the belt.
  • 150 barnes TTSX shot great but same severe extaction trouble at 2850-2900 FPS (loaded with .050" clearance and I did not try any other depths)
  • Remington Factory 150 cor-lokts shot fine and chronographed 3112 without ext trouble
  • R/P brass is 10-15 grains heavier than the Norma brass
  • Norma brass varies by about 2 grains in weight
  • R/P brass varies by about 10 grains in weight
  • My chronographs reads normal type velocities with the other guns I am shooting so I don't thing that it is significantly off.
  • I was expecting 3000-3050 FPS with the 168g (maybe that's just not reasonable)
Brief synopsis of some of the loads I tried: