7828 v. 7828SSC

Derek M.

I've not used the latter but I have plenty of experience with regular IMR7828. Like Hodgdon 4831 and 4831SC, I'm wondering if there is a difference if using the new 7828SSC?

Here's what they say from the website:

IMR 7828SSC
This magnum rifle powder has exactly the same burn speed as standard 7828 and uses the same data. However, due to the super short kernels, metering is virtually as good as a spherical powder. This allows up to 4% more powder space in the case and in many loads yields more velocity than standard 7828. Such loads are marked with an asterisk in the data to show where standard 7828 will not fit.

Just wondering if anyone has done field tests. Thanks.

I use both and have found the 7828 ssc to create more pressure grain for grain than regular 7828. I have seen this in 2 different calibers. I would start a few grains under 7828 data with the 7828 ssc. I have had good luck with both.

I've shot both 7828 and 7828 sc in 3 cartridges now. 300 WSM, 6.5x284, and 280 AI.

There was no difference whatsoever between the 2 powders. They gave the exact same speed grain for grain with no classic pressure signs.

I was testing 7828SSC in a 270 AM this evening. I started w/ 82 grains and went to 84 grains one grain at a time. Didn't reach any pressure indicators.

The stupid chrony didn't record a thing.:mad: tomorrow's another day.

I'm more concerned with powder bridging than anything else which is what happened w/larger kernels of other stick powders.

I have experienced similar resuts to Lost Creek in my 7mm mag. Slightly less velocity and more pressure with the 7828ssc. Still a go to powder with the 160 accubonds and partitions.