7 SAUM Reloading Quesiton

HavenHunter

I'm new to this stuff and hope someone can help. Just recently purchased a 7 Saum that was reamed and throated for the 180 bergers but the reamer was printed for a short action. My gun happens to be a long action so i didn't think I would run into this problem so I'm hoping someone can help. I got some reloading data from a fella that had a short action gun built by the same smith with the same reamer. Just to mess around and see how the rifle fed, I loaded a dummy round to the same exact over all length, .2.950, which was .01 off the lands of the data I received from the guy. Put the dummy in the box of the long action and proceeded to chamber the round. As the bolt pushed the dummy forward, the nose of the bullet caught on the front of the action, leaving the inside of the action with a stripe from the nose of the bullet and leaving the nose of the bullet a bit deformed. Why with a dummy loaded for a "short action" rifle scrape in a long action gun? I tried this a few times and every time the bullet dug into the action and fed rough. I'm hoping it's something stupid I over looked. Thanks to anyone that replies.

Is your magazine and follower for ultra magnum size cases or regular magnum cases or 30.06 size cases ?
Is this a Savage or Remington?

I'm not sure. I assumed when I purchased the gun it was set up for Ultra Mags sized cases. Looks like I may need to order some parts if that's the case.

I'm not expert and don't know anything about Lawton actions but I would contact them first but my thought is that the feed ramps are too narrow causing the case to ride low due to the minimal taper of the case. Just a thought.

Re: 7 SAUM Reloading Question

Thanks for the responses! I guess my next question would be, which follower would I use in a long action to work with the 7 SAUM? I assume the 7 SAUM follower would be built for a short action and wouldn't work in my long action. Any suggestions? Thanks