6mm loads

jdg33

I'm just getting started in the long range thing and need to switch bullets in my 6mm. It's a 700 VLS with a break and I have been shooting 55 NBT's at 4200 fps, since I rarely shot past 500 yards. I would like to start trying some longer range stuff and was thinking of trying 105 grain A max or the 87 grain V max. Twist is 1:9 so I'm a little concerned about the 105's. I can also usually get about 250 fps more out of a 85 grainish bullet than a 100 grainish (highly technical term /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif)so was wondering if the 87 would be a good way to go despite the lower BC.

Thanks,
Burleyboy

Hi There! I shot out many bbls on the exact same rifle that you are shooting. I lived out West at the time and shot p. dogs and Rock chucks with my 6mm's. I too rarely shot past 500 with most of the long range shots being in the 350 yard range.

I shot the 60g Sierra on coyotes and my 60g hp on p. dogs and crows after trying a flock of different bullets of heavier weight. I later on found the Sierra 80g Single shot pistol bullet with a very heavy load of IMR 4064 to be very fast and accurate and blew up very well on everything. Sierra now makes a 80g Single shot blitz Boat tail that is a very accurate bullet and highly explosive, but gives great holes in coyotes also.

I found that the bullets in the 70g range to give the highest velocity with less copper fouling, and the 85g bullet and up really coppered my bbls up fast while making cleaning a real chore. If you wanted to go to a heavier bullet, then my first choice would be the Sierra 80g Blitz BT.

I encourage you to spend some time on a ballistic's program to educate yourself on bullet drop and wind drift...it is a real eye opener to say the least. Do not be deceived, 200 fps makes up for a lot of B.C. on a bullet, and time of flight has a lot to do with wind drift.