300 Win Mag New Lapua Brass Load Data

Zach_22

Ok I'm relatively new to reloading started in 2019. I am working up a load for my sako s20 300 win mag. 1-10 twist I would like to use my new Lapua cases, H1000, and Hornady 200gr ELD-X. I got data on bullet and powder but that Lapua case has considerably less case capacity that my Hornady and light Norma brass. 3.3 percent less compared to Hornady brass. I figured on sticking to manuals C.O.L. And reducing min Hornady brass loads 3.3 percent with Lapua brass and working it up. What are you guys thoughts?

What is the current load you are doing with the Hornady brass?
I haven't worked up a load with the Hornady brass I have some and used it to measure case capacity compared to Lapua I was going to use Hornadys load data for bullet and powder and just start at min load or reduce it a touch to make up for case difference here is the data at bottom using h1000
BB630852-8F4C-48B3-99CA-31BD197B4A70.jpeg

Ok I'm relatively new to reloading started in 2019. I am working up a load for my sako s20 300 win mag. 1-10 twist I would like to use my new Lapua cases, H1000, and Hornady 200gr ELD-X. I got data on bullet and powder but that Lapua case has considerably less case capacity that my Hornady and light Norma brass. 3.3 percent less compared to Hornady brass. I figured on sticking to manuals C.O.L. And reducing min Hornady brass loads 3.3 percent with Lapua brass and working it up. What are you guys thoughts?

do you have a chronograph? If not, stop all your doing and get one then proceed

Id start at 73 or 74 and build a quick ladder up to wherever you are comfortable and look for pressure. Im loading 77 gr of H1000 in Hornady cases with a 200 ELD-X, getting 2950 fps and no pressure signs. These loads are greatly longer than factory but Im shooting a single shot so its all good

do you have a chronograph? If not, stop all your doing and get one then proceed