300 Win Mag custom rifle charlie foxtrot

mountainman56

I hate to admit this but I am running out of ideas. I've been working on a friends custom 300 Win mag for some time now. We had a lot of grief with this rifle from the day he received it but I thought we had most all the accuracy issues sorted out. I have been doing this off and on for 40 years and I'm pretty sure I've gone through all the mandatory accuracy steps. I settled on a load with 175 barnes lrx that was shooting sub moa out to 500 no problem. At that point my friend indicated an interest in heavier bullets, no problem, we have a load that works, we can always go back to it.........right? I tried 180 ttsx, 190 ablr and 200 lrx. Most shot well with the 200 lrx shooting less than 1/2 moa............. BUT every so often this rifle would throw a lousy group way the hell off....usually low and right but not always. Now this is getting more frequent. Saturday I went several times to our range.........2nd trip I shot one group at 200 that simply ate the 3/4 inch bullseye up. 3rd trip out, same identical load, shot a 2" group, 2" right and 1 1/2" low. All things being equal, first thought is the scope. This rifle has a new 3.5 - 18 Swarovski on it so I replaced it with another new 4 - 12 Swarovski. Sunday morning shot 3 groups at 100 yards. First group with identical load was a cloverleaf you could cover up with a dime. Next two groups with marginally different loads still were very very good.

Naturally I thought I had the problem solved, unlikely as it seems the new Swarovski has an issue. Loaded up half a box of rounds and gave them to my amigo. Today he sends me pictures of these horrible nasty groups all over the place. On top of that the original load with 175 barnes lrx shoots poorly also! FYI Jeff shoots my rifles better than I shoot them myself most of the time so I know he ain't the problem.