.300 Savage Build (Need Help)

DirtySouth85

I've been lurking for a while, but have finally decided what to build... I think.

I found @ Dick's a Savage 111 .300win for $350. No Accustock, No Accutrigger and hinged floorplate.

I want to take that rifle and build a sure enough shooter out of it. My plans are to put a pac-nor barrel, not sure what # yet though. I will be hunting with this, Whitetail and hopefully elk in the next year or two. What # is a good accurate light to medium weight barrel?

And a Rifle Basix trigger, whatever ya'll suggest. And I've noticed a little trouble finding a stock for the 111 Long Action? Any suggestions?

I am and experienced hunter and shooter. But I also plan to load my own bullets with some help from my uncle who is a pro at it. Thanks ahead of time and have mercy, I've never built a rifle before.

what ever else you accomplish, enjoy what you are doing. I see in the question that you mention a 300Sav and then the 300 win. I am sure you must be thinking 300win as the caliber?
The barrel choices are so many. I have used lots and very often now days I get the brand that is available the soonest. I have had excellent results in both competition builds and long range hunting builds with Mcgowen precision. And I can ususally get a barrel in about a month or so. I have found the contour pages help with the weight- kind of figure how much weight you are willing to carry. You will already know that more weight helps to dampen recoil. I have had excellent results with the rifle basix trigger and also really like the Sharp Shooter Supply trigger.