300 Rum

srhaggerty

I just finished barrel break in on my new Rem 700 300 RUM. Time to start test loading. Can anyone help me out with some proven loads? I have 4 different tips I am going to try. 150 gr Accubonds, 168 gr A-Max, 178 gr A-Max, 180 gr Accubonds. Any help would be great.

I am not that experienced to give other people sugestions,but on my 300ultra mag i shoot
96gr of reloader25
215 fed match primers
180 accubonds
3320fps, this is a max load on my gun and it does .5 or better @100 yrds.

shooting 99grs RL 25 with 165 nosler BT in my buddies at 3650fps shooting @.75" when you can keep your head screwed on...lol . and it is max or maybe over in his but it shoots good and knocks the heck out of whitetails...
Brien

Don't wast your time with them light loads the big .300 it has plenty of horsepower to push 190gr to 220gr slug's in the 3100 to 3200 FPS range. Do a search on 300Rum you will find lots of my loads and other's>...H-870,Retumbo,R-25,h-1000,IMR7828,and R-22 are your best bets. Think slow burning and heavy... High B.C and S.D. Major Energy way out That's where it's at. Walcome to RUM world /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Tommy

I was just thinking I could push a 150 so fast that it would shoot real flat. My plan was for it to be a deer load. Last night I loaded 96, 94, 92 grains of Rx22 in the 150. We shall see this weekend if it shoots.

srhaggerty,

In the 300 RUM, on those 168 gr A-Max's try 100.0 gr of Retumbo with Fed match primers. This load is running about 3400 fps - depending on barrel length. This hits like a freight train and shoots like a ****. I get 1/4" 4 shot groups at 100 yards with this load.

Another good one is 82.4 gr of H1000 on a 220 gr bullet, if you want to try out a heavier slug.

Good luck with the 300 RUM.