264 WM bullet choices

Kobra

I have a .264 that I have been itching to try some reloading for but I bought the gun on a whim assuming all manufacturers recognize the fact of 1-8" twist for the 140grs. Well I was wrong and Remington went with a 1-9" in my 700 BDL SS 26".

I am curious about the SciroccoII and Accubonds in 130gr and any of the 140gr VLD bullets working with this twist.

Anyone with experience on one of these? Remington sure does know how to miss the mark on twist rates - 6mm Rem, 6.8SPC, etc.

When I talked with Berger about the twist rate in my 7rum and the 168's and 180's they said both would work because it was a 1/9 or faster so I assume it may be the same in your case. I have a 264 that I just started playing with and I shoot 59.5 grains of IMR 4350 with 120 bergers and 61.5 grains of RL 25 with 140 Amax. The 120's are at 3250 and the 140's at 2980. They both shoot 1.5 to 1.750 at 300yds. The zero at 300 is only about 1/2 in low with the 140's. I really like this gun. 308 Nate is building me a 7mm/300 wsm. It should be ready by the middle of June. Talked with him today about putting a break, coating the barrel and action, fluteing the bolt and new bolt handle when the new gun arives. So I guess this one is a keeper too. I know this is more info than you ask for but I kinda got carried away. Dan

Actually I had some interests in 140 AMax's as well. They grouped well? Interesting. Basically my .264 is to become my LR Deer rifle for those once in a blue moon hunts I get over KY beanfields from a tree stand. I admit I have other rifles for this same job but the 6.5mm intruiques me. My guess is most of you guys have "rifle overlap" like myself.

Yes, I'd agree that Remington does seem to have some difficulty understanding "versatility" in setting their twist rates. Once they decide a certain cartridge is best with light bullets, that's that.