260 rig for under $1K ?

haeffnkr

But if you goal is just a very accurate rig for under $1000 , then you can have a Rem 700 trued , rebarreled and stocked for about that maybe a little less. <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The above quote was made to me after I had asked about 260's and Encores.

I am new to the long range/custom rifle seen, I only own hunting rifles (fairly accurate hunting rifles, that shoot under an inch at 100 yards.) I do reload and have very good luck with Nosler BT bullets in my loads.

My goal is to own a 260 rig that will shoot 120 grain bullets into one hole. I want to use the 120s because I want the extra velocity, and dont anticipate going out to 1000 yards. I do plan to shoot deer at 200-300 yards on average and a few possible shots up to 500, no farther, and this is on very few occasions. (I am set on this round and bullet)

Again....I want this rig to be accurate, one hole accurate! (with in reason of course....)
I do not plan on packing this rig, and whatever weight it takes is OK.

What is recommended to get to my goal?
Can it be done for 1K, (with out optics)?
If so what are the parts and where do I get them, including gunsmiths in Missouri.

Thanks for all your help.
I really enjoy your Great site, and have learned a lot!

Kevin

used rem 700 from pawn shop/gun shop - 300
shilen barrel blank - 225
action true/chamber/fit/crown - 225
rem VS or VLS stock from ebay or someone on the boards - 150

------900$

do bedding and trigger yourself.

some barrels are more (kreiger/lilja/hart) some are less (douglas/E.R.Shaw)

JB

Do you think those items will get me to my goal of 1 hole groups?

What do you look for, good or bad in a used 700 (short?) action?

I am not familiar with bedding, I have adjusted 700 triggers (some are better than others...)