+20 moa base

Caleb85

Ok so here is the deal..I was shooting at my steel range and I went to shoot at the 1080 yard plate and my software called for 31 MOA of elevation and I ran out a 23 moa. So last night I installed a 20 MOA base and sited back in; went to shoot again and ran out at 23 moa again !! I'm new to these bases ..am I not setting it up right ? Need some advice. .I had to hold over about 2 foot on the steel and I would hit it every time so I know that I need that extra 20 inches....thank.

Ok so here is the deal..I was shooting at my steel range and I went to shoot at the 1080 yard plate and my software called for 31 MOA of elevation and I ran out a 23 moa. So last night I installed a 20 MOA base and sited back in; went to shoot again and ran out at 23 moa again !! I'm new to these bases ..am I not setting it up right ? Need some advice. .I had to hold over about 2 foot on the steel and I would hit it every time so I know that I need that extra 20 inches....thank.
What scope and what range of adjustment does it have?
My scopes have more than 23MoA adjustment, so unless we know the amount you have, we can't calculate the required base height.
One question, did you re-centre the reticle before you put the scope on the new rail?

Cheers.
gun)

Make me wonder if they slipped you a +0 base on accident. Maybe call manufacture and get some measurements.

Pretty sure you got a 0 rail by mistake.

You don't say what rifle and chambering.

7mm sendero with a leupold vx3 6.5-20x50mmLR. Blackhawk 20 MOA rail with leupold PRW 30 MM medium or lows I can't remember. And no I did center the scope back out when I put it on.

A 20 MOA rail on a Remington 700 is obviously thicker at the back.

I don't have Blackhawk brand but most are marked on the side or bottom.

It is possible to have them marked wrong.

I believe your scope has a little over 90 MOA adjustment, top to bottom. 45 up - 45 down from center.