1st Time Reloader: Long Range Hunting Load -- 200gr Nosler Accubond, Help?

Brydawg512

Hello all,

I have been talking with a few folks on another one of my threads about bullet choices for my X-Bolt in 300WM, 1:8 twist. I hunt black bear, mulies and elk, and would like good bullet performance on game from 0-600 yards, maybe further on steel for fun.

What are the thoughts on 200gr Nosler Accubonds for the 0-600 yard range on game? Any other bullet recommendations or loads?

I was recommended the 215 Berger Hybrid, however, I am not a designated long-range hunter and have ample opportunity for shots at 50 yards on out to 600-700 yards and don't feel comfortable using a target bullet on game.

Thank you all in advance!

I have been using 160 grain Accubonds in my 7 mag for several years and I have no plans of changing. I have had excellent 'on game' performance from 50-400+ yards. At least in my rifle, they were pretty easy to develop a sub .5 moa load for.

I have been using 160 grain Accubonds in my 7 mag for several years and I have no plans of changing. I have had excellent 'on game' performance from 50-400+ yards. At least in my rifle, they were pretty easy to develop a sub .5 moa load for.

I know the Nosler bullets have a good reputation for having stellar on-game performance. How far have you shot with the round? What is overall accuracy like?

I'm working on a load for the 200 ab in my 30 nosler. My dad has shot the 160 ab in his 7stw for years and has had great results.

I tried the 215 berger in mine and accuracy was stellar as always with the bergers. I'm just tired of never getting a pass through. I know many say they do but I haven't. Here's a 215 from my 30 nos recovered from a shoulder shot WT at 265 yards. It was a mild load running 2850 at the muzzle. No pass through, core seperation and it only weighed 77 grains.
20191110_102735.jpg