115g VLD Berger for deer?

TireurDelite

Anyone use this bullet for hunting deer?
If so what result did you have?
Just got my order in and will be testing some reload this week end, weather permitting.
Thanks for your time.

I have no experience, either; I suppose it's a .257?

I don't like the construction of any of the Berger VLD's, for long range, which for my purposes, would start around 500 yards, or so. They probably won't expand very well, if at all(?)..... and you got a runner.

And, even if it's a coyote, they deserve a cleaner kill. Deer, they may pass through, similiar to a FMJ?

It's a tough call, experimenting with that type of bullet, on a game animal. I'd get a lot of data before trying it.

Sierra makes a game bullet, a 120 gr.HP, good profile, but I don't know the BC?

Good hunting. LB

Hey guys,

The cartrige is a 25-06 rem.
Is the bullet that tough that it won't even expand when hitting a game?
I did also order the Sierra 120g HPBT but like you said the BC isn't even close to that of the VLD. That's the reason for the question.
Speaking of question I have another. Yesterday I checked the over all length for the 115g VLD and my rifle is giving me 3.435". That's about 0.200" more than the standard OAL. Another thing that caught my eye was that the bullet didn't even go past the neck into the shoulder area of the brass. Never had any like that before. Is it safe to shoot them?
Thank you for your time.

Well, I think that's why the previous responder was asking about your twist. You have to consider the bearing surface of the VLD bullet, and what RPM it will take to stabilize it, for optimum accuracy. You may need a faster twist than the standard factory barrel.

The one I have, for instance, is a one turn in thirteen inch twist, and I wouldn't know if it is enough for that bullet (115VLD) without trying it.