Wrong Ammo

Gene Allen

After reading another post today about the mistake made in calibers after being told it was one caliber and finding out it was a 243 and lucking out and not getting hurt I decided to share one myself. I have been loading for almost 50 years & never had anything go wrong until about five years ago when I was the lucky one, i was out shooting the 1000 yard steel at our range with my 300 win and my 7mm STW and not having a very good shoot and was about ready to call it a day. I decided to take one more shot with the STW and unknowingly chambered a 300 win, when I squeezed off the round I got a little hot gas back in my face and knowing right away something was very wrong. The rifle spit the 30 caliber bullet out but the bolt was welded closed,I took it to a gun smith and we tried to remove the barrel on the Remington 700 and ended up having to cut it off needless to say the rifle was a total loss except for salvaging the the Timney trigger. So the comment someone made about only shooting one rifle at a time is true at least for me, I learned a cheap lesson in only losing a rifle and not being hurt. I now only have one rifle at a time out at the bench or two that are very different calibers

Pretty impressive it got the 30 cal pill out the barrel with the action in one piece. Better the bolt jammed into the raceway than in your face.

300 BLK doesn't have the horsepower to get out of a 5.56 AR barrel usually, so pretty much guaranteed to have have shrapnel out the mag well. Which is why that's NOT where your off hand goes, get it out on the rail or your pinky might get chopped.