Wind(s) for this shot

Have to agree rocks make nice biodegradable targets that make you range them 1st and then start planning your shot. All this great info will help to reach out to the further ones.

I really have no idea how any of you are making any estimates on any winds.
I'm just trying to guess the distances.

It does make for interesting, informative reading and nice scenery.

Someday I hope to hunt something similar.
Minus the house of course.

I really have no idea how any of you are making any estimates on any winds.
I'm just trying to guess the distances.

It does make for interesting, informative reading and nice scenery.

Someday I hope to hunt something similar.
Minus the house of course.
Guess distances? Get a rangefinder, my friend :) No reason to range anything with a scope anymore.

Good point.

and
I was referring to the distances in the pics
Lol

I'm new at this, the only way I can tell the wind is by watching the sage grass(bluestem) lean in my pasture where I shoot.

This is good info.

I've got a friend who is going to let me on his 1200 yrd range.

I really don't even know where to start.
Have never shot at a target over 500 yards.
I believe I've got My gun and load ready.

Now to work on my shooting basics and techniques.

Good point.

and
Lol

I'm new at this, the only way I can tell the wind is by watching the sage grass(bluestem) lean in my pasture where I shoot.

This is good info.

It's not hard. Just go do it. You'll figure it out from there. Post results

Good point.

and
Lol

This is good info.

26 and I were just depicting to the OPs question our educated guess on wind based off terrain. Wind terrain is just one tool of many tools in the wind. There are no general rules of thumb other than do the best you can. With experience comes results.