Which Scope

SIRGARRETH

I am sure this has been asked a thousand times. I am new to rifles and any advice I can get I am sure will save me time and money.
Rifle: Remington 700 SPS .308 (stock might get chaned in future)
Rings: ??
Base: ??
So far i am looking at:
Nikon Buckmaster 3-9X40
SWFA SS10X42
Bushnell 3200 series
Vortex Viper 6.5-20X44

Most shooting will be at a range of 100yds. Cant find a range in Miami or near that has anything more than that. I would like to use this set up for Hog in the future. This set up will also be given to my son after I build a nice custom set up later on, so this is a start up learning the basics rifle.

Either the Nikon or a 3200. If you go 3200, their product lines have changed a bit and some of the 3200's have been EOL now, so be aware. Honestly for 100 yards, that Nikon would be really the most sensible. Then again Vortex makes scopes in that power range too.

For hunting / shooting 300 yards or less, Id go with 12x or less max power. In fact, for 200 or less, I would stare hard at the 2x7-32 Viper. Too much power is just that, Too Much! The 6x20 would be for 600yards+++. In all honesty I rarely dial on more that 14x even out to 1k, unless I am trying to "Quick Spot" something. But for spotting, a good pair of bino's are 100000000x better than using a scope!

Good Hunting,
Gary

I stand on the other side of the street on the power issue. All my rifles have 6-18 or 6.5-20 on them. I like to be able to see my target clearly at 200yds and beyond for fine work. I want to know exactly how much that deer is actually quartering before I send a bullet to him. Aim small, miss small. I can keep all my shots inside a pie plate at most ranges, that's not good enough, I want them all under MOA at the respective range (i.e. under 1" at 100yds, under 6" at 600yds, etc.). Just me though. JohnnyK.