Warning !!!!

Very good post and description Gary !!!!

I have watched the process but never operated a gun drill.

I also believe that the set up and the operator has a major bearing on the quality of the drilling.

Your comment about watching the chips is also correct and applies to all metal cutting.

Thanks

J E CUSTOM
I learned most everything I know bits and pieces at a time. At first everything just seemed wrong, but once you see what each part does it all falls in place. One thing I couldn't discuss here (even if I was an expert) is the grind on the gun drill tip. Very secretive and the coolant isn't anybetter. What I will tell you is that they replace the coolant every week like clockwork. Most of the better coolant setups had three sets of redundant filters that were switched over by the hours on them. Your looking at nine filters and the large conveyor filter to catch the big stuff. Some of them have a chiller added to the mix as well.
The guys that ran these machines ran nothing else, and sometimes there would be a cell with three or four completely different machines. Normally he only ran one at a time as these are something you have to stay ontop of all the time.
The guide bushing box is rebuilt often, and I had at least a half dozen all the time to rebuild. We never used the factory box much, as they usually were not good enough. Yet there were a few out there in some very odd situations. Everything is hard piped as a quick disconnect won't flow enough coolant. Even then the connectors are mil spec.