VLD bullet seating

WHITEBULL

I am kind of new to reloading, and I just started loading for my .270wsm. I load for my .308, .204, .223, but never had a issue with the bullets sticking inside the seater die. I am trying to seat 165 gr. Matrix VLD and the bullets are sticking inside the die. What am I doing wrong, or do I need some type of VLD seating die?
Thanks.

Most standard seating stems/plugs won't clear the tip of VLD bullets and will deform them and can result in them sticking in the die. I guess it happens more on some bullets than others. Redding makes VLD-specific stems. Lee suggests that you drill out the seating plug until it clears the tip and bears on the ogive. I have no personal experience here, though. I've yet to load any VLDs.

Matt

I have only loaded 2 different VLD's so far. Never had an issue with either. I must say though since I bought a Forster seating die I am a believer. It just works so darn smooth compared to my RCBS seating die. It's also seating by the ogive and not the top of the bullet.
Maybe check that your die isn't dirty.

I am kind of new to reloading, and I just started loading for my .270wsm. I load for my .308, .204, .223, but never had a issue with the bullets sticking inside the seater die. I am trying to seat 165 gr. Matrix VLD and the bullets are sticking inside the die. What am I doing wrong, or do I need some type of VLD seating die?
Thanks.
Whitebull,