Understanding ES and how to fix it

philsummers21

Ok. I'm fairly new to long range shooting. But I'm getting very hooked. Im not new to reloading but am new to reloading for long range. With my 22-250 I'm having an ES of 20-30 fps in 5 shot groups. I've played with powder charges and seating depth and blah blah blah. But when I get low ES my groups open up. So how do you find that balance. Plus what's good ES. And at what range does it really start to play a factor. I know it's a 22-250 and won't shoot extreme distances. But so far I've found a load I really like, shoots well. But has around 20 ES Here is my 100, 200, 300 groups
A37D1434-8405-481B-BD3D-7058A9B8F318_zpsm80jb6jj.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
5E348378-BD80-41F4-B92C-4564BFE57972_zpsgqmjco4q.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
6AF9888A-E719-480A-B21E-F5168E5A4B9E_zpslgr2wfax.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Sometimes ES and SD are overrated

With groups like that I wouldn't worry about it

Now it might show up at 600 or 1000 yrds but you aren't going there

But I am curious tho as I have a 30-378 wby I've been playing with that I'd really like to stretch it out and see what it and I can do at 1000+

I tend to put more weight on a lower SD. ES documents your outliers. SD is the difference from an average which holds more weight as it is most relevant to consistency. Lower your SD and your ES follows. 20 FPS ES may yield a decent SD with a large enough sample size to validate it.

I tend to put more weight on a lower SD. ES documents your outliers. SD is the difference from an average which holds more weight as it is most relevant to consistency. Lower your SD and your ES follows. 20 FPS ES may yield a decent SD with a large enough sample size to validate it.