Tell Me About the 300 WBY

jaw719

I've only hunted deer on the east coast so I'm a newbie when it comes to magnums.

I've got a mid-90s Japanese Mark 5 in 300 WBY and I'm thinking about using it for an elk hunt in Montana next year. The guy I'll be using as a guide told me that the terrain is a little rough since I'm a nonresident and my general tag doesn't get the best draw I guess? So I'm worried about the weight being a little much at 8.5lbs and wondering if I should get a different gun in a different caliber, keep this one, or get a lighter Weatherby in 300 WBY.

I've only hunted deer on the east coast so I'm a newbie when it comes to magnums.

I've got a mid-90s Japanese Mark 5 in 300 WBY and I'm thinking about using it for an elk hunt in Montana next year. The guy I'll be using as a guide told me that the terrain is a little rough since I'm a nonresident and my general tag doesn't get the best draw I guess? So I'm worried about the weight being a little much at 8.5lbs and wondering if I should get a different gun in a different caliber, keep this one, or get a lighter Weatherby in 300 WBY.

The .300 WBTY if it shoots accurately and you can handle the recoil (an excellent muzzle brake will help mitigate this issue) would make an excellent elk chambering for up to 1K plus yards. Load it with 215/230 Berger and you're golden. However, "IF" you have a problem carrying a 8.5 in the MT wilderness esp. when it is guided, then it is not for you. The "NUT" behind the trigger remains the biggest factor regardless of rifle and chambering.

That's kind of why I want to get a Weathermark LT. Comes with a brake, is available in left hand and about a pound lighter.

I'm not too worried about recoil, I'll have a couple of layers on plus I'm pushing 230.